Texas State University Logo

Quick Links

Online Resources

Join the Conversation

adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Returned Items (NSF)

Returned Checks:                                                                                                           

If a check (including e-check), or checks are returned unpaid for any reason (such as insufficient funds, account closed, no account found) other than the admitted error of the bank, the student must pay in cash, cashiers check, money order or credit card (American Express, VISA, MasterCard, Diners Club or Discover) immediately and a $30 service fee is assessed for each returned check. A late fee may also be assessed.

Stopping payment on a check for fees or allowing the check to be returned unpaid by the bank for any reason does not constitute official withdrawal from Texas State and may result in financial penalties and delays with future enrollment in Texas State.

If a student has an outstanding returned check, this student will be on a “cash-only” basis until the obligation is cleared. Cash only status is a denial of check cashing privileges on campus. If a student has three or more returned checks within a 365-day period (i.e., one calendar year), Texas State reserves the right to place the student on permanent "cash-only" status.